Exhibition Tournament

Hello, 

 

We are writing to inform you of the difficult decision we have made to cancel the 1AC-CESSIBILITY Exhibition Tournament for Inclusion this weekend August 7-8. Unfortunately, despite our best efforts, enrollment in the tournament was not sufficient to support an active tournament. Many people wanted to attend this event. We had several people write to us over the last month that they would love to attend, but for one reason or another (mainly the timing of the start of the school year and the date for the tournament), that they were not able to attend. 

 

1AC-CESSIBILITY wants to thank you for your interest in supporting us and competing this weekend. It really means a lot to us. We understand that this must be disappointing, and we want to apologize for any inconvenience this cancellation causes. 

 

There is still good that will and has come from this endeavor. 

 

We secured a grant to make this tournament happen free of charge for everyone. Our plan now is to use the funds we received in our grant to produce a judge training video about disability in speech and debate which we will then distribute to as many tournaments as we can find in hopes they include it in their judge training materials. Additionally, we have caught the attention of the National Speech and Debate Association who wants to meet with us and discuss disability equity. Finally, we have done extensive planning for this tournament--which still exists. The tournament invitation and judge training materials we have created all still exist as an example of what a more equitable and accessible tournament could look like. Hopefully, this attempt and work inspire other tournaments and community members to reflect on what is possible in the world of speech and debate. 

 

Thank you again for your support, 

 

Alanna Cronk

 

Founder of 1AC-CESSIBILITY

Take a look at what the tournament would have looked like.

View the Invitation

Judge Training Materials

Participant Information Sheet

Information

Where

Registration

Thanks to a grant from the Social Innovation and Public Service Fund, registration is free! You can register for the tournament at http://1accessibilitytournament.tabroom.com This is an event for high school students only. Each student is only allowed to register for one event maximum, there will be no double entries. Independent entries welcome. 

 

Last day to register entries: 8/5/21

Last day to register judges: 8/5/21

Schedule (subject to change)

Speech

Day One

Round one- 11 am EST / 8 am PST

Round two- 3:30 pm EST / 12:30 pm PST

Day Two

Round three- 1:30 pm EST / 10:30 am PST

Finals- 6 pm EST / 3 pm PST

Debate

Day One

Round one-1 pm EST / 10 am PST

    Flight one: 12 pm EST/ 9 am PST

    Flight two: 1 pm EST/ 10 am PST

Round two- 5 pm EST /2 pm PST

    Flight one: 3 pm EST/ 12 pm PST

    Flight two: 4 pm EST/ 1 pm PST

Day Two

Round three- 11 am EST / 8 am PST

    Flight one: 11 am EST/ 8 am PST

    Flight two: 12 pm EST/ 9 am PST

Round four- 3 pm EST / 12 pm PST

    Flight one: 3 pm EST/ 12 pm PST

    Flight two: 4 pm EST/ 1pm PST

Finals- 6 pm EST / 3 pm PST

Awards

As soon as possible

What Is Different?

Cost

It is free to enter!

Accommodations

Every entrant MUST fill out the Participant Form which asks about

accommodations. That form can be found here. Even if you do not believe you will need accommodations, you need to fill out the form.

We have a standardized process for requesting, approving, and

implementing accommodations.  All requests will be reviewed by the tournament directors and the entry (and parent of entry) will be notified of approval on a rolling basis and as soon as possible. Most likely the request will be approved. No medical documentation will be required or submitted. Judges will be notified of a participant's accommodations via email, if necessary.

Sitting

Participants may be seated while giving all speeches in both speech and debate. The chair is not to be used as a prop and should not be moved during the speech. The idea here is not to prioritize mobility in competitive success.

Memorization

Participants do not have to have their speeches memorized for Collapsed Interp, Original Oratory, or Impromptu. Judges will be instructed not to take off any points for not being memorized unless it significantly distracts from the performance. This makes this the perfect place to test out new speeches for the upcoming season!

Tournament Provided Cases

We want to make this tournament as stress-free and equitable as possible. We will be providing generic cases and evidence for all participants to uses at our website on this page. 

Scoring

Speech has a new scoring system to cut down on hyper competitive culture: performance points. This is a new primary scoring system. The winners will primarily be decided on a scale of 1-10 performance points. These do not reflect entrants' worth as people, their intellect, or their potential as speechies. These are only a method of competitive scoring and nothing more. Students in a round MAY tie for performance points. We want to decrease the direct comparison of competitors to avoid motivating people to believe others in-round are “doing poorly” in order to believe they themselves did a good job.

Comparative rankings

Judges will assign ranks 1st-last for each round in case of a need for a secondary tiebreaker.

Ties

1-cumulative performance points for the highest total

2-cumulative comparative round rankings for the lowest total

3-who had the competitive edge earlier in the day

4-true tie

Breaks

We have ample break time built into the schedule.

Redo Rounds

The purpose of a redo round is to resolve equity concerns. It is common that competitors may suddenly feel extremely unwell during a round or an incident will occur that significantly affects their performance. If you had a round that you feel did not go well because of unexpected feelings of unwellness or discrimination, feel free to participate in redo rounds.

 

You will redo the round and Tabroom will disappear the round you want dropped to the best of our ability. A maximum of one round can be redone at this tournament. Let the tabroom know IMMEDIATELY if you feel you want a redo round. To request a redo round, email one.ac.cessible@gmail.com with the subject REDO ROUND [YOUR NAME] with a very brief explanation of why you need the redo round. The latest a request for a redo round can be accommodated is thirty minutes after the round ended, with exception of the last round. The last round must be requested immediately due to elimination rounds. These will not be available for elimination rounds. 

If your event is a speech, you will be asked to upload a recording of your speech and we will have a judge assign you performance points. Since there will be no one to compare with, you will not have a comparative ranking. In the event of a tie, your ranking from the round you are redoing would be used. If you are in debate, we will try our best to find another entry in the same event willing to do another round. If we cannot track down another person, you will submit a recording of the one speech (per partner if applicable) and

you will receive new speaker points but keep your win/loss.

Good Citizen Awards

At this tournament, if you feel another competitor has been kind to

you or had a particularly moving, thoughtful, and meaningful speech, fill out this Google form, letting us know what they did. You cannot nominate people from your own team. The entry will receive a Good Citizen Award. The name of the person who nominates the Good Citizen will be kept private at awards.

The title of Honored Good Citizen will be given to the participant

Tabroom votes to affirm had the most heartwarming act of kindness.

We feel this activity could benefit from more kindness. There are so

many factors that encourage competition that can sometimes bring other people down. We hope that the Good Citizen Award Program will foster greater community and provide motivation for good acts.

TLDR: fill out this form if someone was nice to you and they will get an award.

Relax

In general, judges will be instructed to be forgiving. In regards to

timekeeping and other sorts of norms, judges will be instructed to take it easy and be forgiving, which makes this tournament perfect for beginners!

Free Cases and Evidence for Lincoln-Douglas